The Beast + Old Fave

March 27, 2009

beastswayze1

Earlier this year, I watched the premiere of “The Beast” on a whim. The show stars Patrick Swayze as an FBI agent and a rookie partner that he is taking under his wings. I won’t spoil too much, but if you haven’t seen it yet, go start with the pilot on Hulu and I think you’ll get hooked.

After having watched almost a full season now, I can accurately say that this is a highly under-rated drama, with very few negatives. The unfortunate situation with Mr. Swayze’s illness is one of the main things working against the show’s success, as he is so frail and thin from his treatments that it’s hard for him to look convincing in this role. If more people could look past this and give this show a chance I really think they would all see what dedicated fans like me have : there’s some really good writing and action to be seen here.

Also, I really enjoy their music choices. In last night’s episode they pulled an old under the radar classic out of their hats, using The Promise Ring’s “Raspberry Rush” during the bar scene. I haven’t heard this song in quite some time, but it was great and unexpected treat. I’ll post a video as soon as I can find one.

Leave a Reply

